top of page

Eine kurze Geschichte

Left hand. 4-11-17_edited_edited.jpg

Ich war 13 Jahre alt und wuchs in Guayaquil, Ecuador auf, als ich anfing, Gitarre zu spielen. Die Gitarre mit Nylonsaiten ist ein sehr beliebtes Instrument in Lateinamerika, aber aus irgendeinem Grund hatte das Instrument bis zu diesem Moment in meinem Leben nicht so viel Aufmerksamkeit auf sich gezogen. Der entscheidende Moment kam, als sich die Wege der Gitarre und ich kreuzten und eine ewige Beziehung begann. Es ist zufällig passiert. Eines Tages kam ich von der Schule nach Hause und sah, wie meine Mutter Unterricht bei einer Dame nahm, die sie für den Unterricht kontaktiert hatte. Ich fragte, ob ich mich hinsetzen und dem Unterricht zuhören könnte. Ich achtete aufmerksam und schweigend auf die Erklärung, die die Dame meiner Mutter gab, wie man die Gitarre hält und wie man die Finger der linken Hand auf die Saiten über dem Griffbrett legt. Sie erklärte ihr, wie man etwas spielt, das Akkord genannt wird. Die Dame konnte weder Noten lesen noch hatte sie eine gute klassische Gitarrentechnik, aber was immer sie meiner Mutter zusammen mit ihrem Spiel erklärte, klang in meinen Ohren faszinierend. Ich fragte meine Mutter, ob ich auch Unterricht nehmen könnte und sie sagte ja. Leider weiß ich den Namen der Dame nicht mehr, aber ich bin dankbar für die Spieltipps, die sie mir beigebracht hat. Ich bewunderte die Bemühungen meiner Mutter, Gitarre spielen zu lernen. Ich hätte es wahrscheinlich selbst nicht gelernt, wenn es nicht ihre Initiative gewesen wäre, den Unterricht zu nehmen. Bedauerlicherweise sagte sie einige Monate später, nachdem sie aufgehört hatte, Unterricht zu nehmen und zu spielen, dass sie alles vergessen hatte, was sie gelernt hatte.

Irgendwo um diese Zeit herum haben die Beatles und die Rolling Stones wurden zu einem weltweiten Phänomen. Rockbands tauchten überall auf. Auch Frauen bekamen das Faible für Rockmusik und wurden zu führenden Künstlerinnen in ihren eigenen Bands. Sie sagen, dass Grace Slick von Jefferson Airplane und Janis Joplin den Weg für Patty Smith, Bonnie Raitt, Joan Jett und all die weiblichen Rocker, die danach kamen, geebnet haben. In den frühen sechziger Jahren entschieden sich Tausende von Jungen und Mädchen auf der ganzen Welt, Gitarre zu lernen, um die Songs ihrer Lieblingsbands und -sänger zu spielen. Natürlich wollten alle E-Gitarre spielen. Das ultimative Ziel im Lernprozess war es, eine Rockband zusammenzustellen. 

Ich war Mitglied in mehreren von ihnen: Pajaros de Fuego (Feuervögel) (Robbie Garcia/Leadsänger, Alberto Vallarino (RIP)/Keyboards, Roberto Vallarino (RIP))/Bass, Fernando Rodriguez/Drums, Francisco Burgos/Guitar The Corvettes (gleiche Mitglieder), The Chevelles (Kiko Andrade/Leadsänger, Glen Rumbea (RIP)/Bass, Ricardo Rivera/Schlagzeug, Francisco Burgos/Gitarre Aus irgendeinem seltsamen Grund, den ich nicht ganz verstehe, wählen wir immer Automodellnamen!!! 

In den sechziger Jahren erhielt die Rockmusik eine neue Wendung in der Art und Weise, wie sie geschrieben und aufgeführt wurde. Weitere Akkorde und Harmonien wurden zusammen mit ungewöhnlichen Melodien und Texten in die Songs integriert. Die Kleiderordnung und Frisuren entwickelten sich zusammen mit vielen sozialen Veränderungen. Der Vietnamkrieg war im Gange und die Bürgerrechtsbewegung gewann an Fahrt.

The Beatles
The Beatles
press to zoom
The Rolling Stones
The Rolling Stones
press to zoom
Chevelles
Chevelles
press to zoom
The Corvettes
The Corvettes
press to zoom
Sixties fashion
Sixties fashion
press to zoom
Marianne Faithfull
Marianne Faithfull
press to zoom

Obwohl beide, Beatles und Stones, E-Gitarre spielten, hatten sie auch viele Kompositionen, in denen Gitarren mit Stahlsaiten oder Nylonsaiten verwendet wurden. Lieder wie z “And I love her” „"Till There Was You "(written by Meredith Willson )  „I"ve Just Seen A Face" ,  sind nur drei der früheren Beatles-Songs, in denen Nylon- und akustische Stahlsaitengitarren zum Einsatz kamen. Wir können den Beitrag des Musikers/Plattenproduzenten George Martin nicht vergessen  zum Erfolg der Beatles als Band mit seiner Beteiligung als Tontechniker an den Aufnahmen. Ein klassisch ausgebildeter Musiker, der mit seinem musikalischen Wissen das Endprodukt der Aufnahmen mitgestaltet hat. 

Die Rolling Stones waren (und sind) eine faszinierende Band, der ich gerne zugehört habe. Ich mag immer noch ihre früheren Songs: „"As Tears Go By“ ,   "Sittin' on a Fence"  und „"My Sweet Lady Jane" . Bei diesen drei Songs wurde auch die Akustikgitarre verwendet. Wegen der Rolling Stones und dem Einfluss des Blues in ihrer Musik begann ich auch, Blues-Gitarristen wie BBKing und Freddie King zuzuhören . Beide Kings waren damals mein Bezugspunkt, wenn es um diesen Musikstil ging.

Jedes andere Kind im Block, das Gitarre spielte, lernte die Moll-Pentatonik kennen. Es ist eine Tonleiter, die fünf Noten 1, 3, 4, 5 und 7 der natürlichen Moll-Tonleiter verwendet. Früher haben wir in unseren Improvisationen die Pentatonik zu Tode gespielt! So wie es damals jeder Gitarrist im Teenageralter tat und wahrscheinlich auch heute noch tut. Ich möchte jedoch für den musikalisch interessierten Leser hinzufügen, dass wir schließlich andere Skalen gelernt und uns verpflichtet haben, Bluesgitarristen etwas genauer zuzuhören und die Nuancen des Stils ein bisschen besser zu lernen.

Latin-Bands wie Los Iracundos (Softrock aus Uruguay) waren damals in Lateinamerika bei Teenagern sehr beliebt. Zwei ihrer Lieder „Es la lluvia que cae“ (Es ist der Regen, der fällt)  und "Se que no volveras"  (Weil ich weiß, dass du nicht zurückkommen wirst) wurden zu Hits in der gesamten spanischsprachigen Welt in Amerika,  aber Rockmusik in englischer Sprache war eine starke Kraft, die nicht aufgehalten werden konnte. Also spielten und sangen wir auf Englisch und Spanisch. Auch die Musik des indischen Sitarspielers Ravi Shankar prägte die Klänge des Rock. Sowohl die Beatles als auch die Stones experimentierten mit diesem exotischen und schön klingenden Instrument, das zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil der „Summer of Love“-Musikära wurde.

The Beatles at the recording studio
The Beatles at the recording studio
press to zoom
B.B.King
B.B.King
press to zoom
Iracundos
Iracundos
press to zoom
Ravi Shankar
Ravi Shankar
press to zoom

Auch Folk-Rock und Volksmusik waren damals eine starke Kraft. Als ich Paul Simons hörte Fingerpicking-Stil bei den Songs, die er geschrieben und zusammen mit Art Garfunkel (Simon and Garfunkel) gesungen hat, fühlte ich mich, als hätte mich ein riesiger Magnet zu diesem Stil hingezogen. Paul Simons Gitarrenspiel war eine Offenbarung. Irgendwie landete eine Kopie ihres ersten Albums „Wednesday Morning, 3 am“ auf meinem Plattenspieler, als ich in Ecuador lebte. Seitdem höre ich mir die Songs an, die auf dieser LP waren, und bin weder ihrer noch der anderen Aufnahmen, die sie als Duo gemacht haben, überdrüssig geworden. Ich kannte jedes Lied auswendig. Als ich 1969 zum ersten Mal in New York City ankam , ging ich direkt ins East Village. Ich musste zur Bleecker Street gehen (“…Fog’s rollin’ in off the East Riverbank….like a shroud it covers Bleecker Street…”) Ich musste einen Spaziergang zum East River machen und die heilige Luft atmen, die ich nur das dachte Straße hatte. Ich wollte die Magie spüren, die Paul Simon in diesem gleichnamigen Lied wie die Straße beschrieb. Unnötig zu sagen, I was feeling groovy!

Unter den vielen Songs, die Paul Simon in seinen frühen Jahren schrieb, war „Kathy's Song“ einer meiner Favoriten. Es wurde geschrieben, während sie in London waren, und es war Kathy gewidmet, seiner damaligen Liebe. Ich mag dieses Lied sehr. Das Gitarrenspiel ist sanft, einfach und schön. Die Texte sind poetisch und die Melodie trägt dazu bei, die Poesie der Texte zu verstärken, oder ist es umgekehrt? Ich musste lernen, dieses Lied zu spielen, sobald ich es hörte. Es hat über die Jahre nichts von seiner poetischen Kraft eingebüßt.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom

Ich hatte schon immer eine persönliche Anziehungskraft auf den süßen Ton, den Nylonsaitengitarren und Akustikgitarren produzieren. Um fair zu sein, ich mag auch die E-Gitarre, aber mein Interesse an der akustischen und klassischen Gitarre mit Nylonsaiten war schon immer stark. Während ich in New York lebte, fand eine neue Veränderung in meinem Musikgeschmack statt, oder ich sollte sagen, ich fügte der Speisekarte einen komplexen Musikstil / ein komplexes Gericht hinzu. Ich habe Andres Segovia spielen gehört. Ich erinnere mich, dass ich eine seiner LP-Aufnahmen gekauft habe. Ich erinnere mich lebhaft, dass es im Schaufenster eines Musikgeschäfts ausgestellt war, an dem ich jeden Tag auf dem Weg zur U-Bahnstation vorbeiging. Ich hatte gehört, er sei einer der großen klassischen Gitarristen (gab es einen anderen, der so berühmt war wie er?) Ich war neugierig, mir die Aufnahme anzuhören und zu versuchen, mir selbst eine Meinung zu bilden. Sobald ich ein paar Dollar in der Tasche hatte, kaufte ich mir die LP. Das war eine kluge finanzielle Investition.

 

Der musikalische Inhalt der LP hat mich umgehauen.  Ich verbrachte Stunden mit meinem Ohr nahe am Plattenspieler und meiner Gitarre in der Hand und versuchte, einige der Stücke, die er auf dieser LP spielte, nach Gehör zu lernen. Bald wurde mir klar, dass es keine Möglichkeit gab, diese Stücke nach Gehör zu lernen. Unter den Tracks auf der LP waren Pavanas von Milan, Mallorca von Albeniz , Variationen und Fuge über ein Thema von Händel von Harris und viele andere schöne Musikwerke von Komponisten, von denen ich noch nie gehört hatte.

 

Die Ausdruckskraft von Segovias Spiel und seine technische Virtuosität ließen meine Ohren eine Klanglandschaft aufkommen, von der ich nicht glauben konnte, dass sie aus einer Gitarre mit Nylonsaiten kam. Die Art und Weise, wie er die Musik formulierte, öffnete mir eine Tür, die mir zeigte, dass es einen Weg gab, musikalische Ideen zu kommunizieren, während ich dieses „einfache“ Instrument spielte, das sich als fähig zu enormer musikalischer Komplexität herausstellte. Ich konnte mir nicht vorstellen, wie eine Person eine Gitarre wie ein ganzes Orchester klingen lassen konnte. Ich verliebte mich in die Musik von Bach, Ponce, Villalobos und vielen anderen Komponisten, von deren Existenz ich bis dahin nichts wusste. Vielleicht war Bach der einzige Name, den ich kannte. Ich fand heraus, dass es viele Komponisten gab, die auf Wunsch von Segovia Musik für die Gitarre geschrieben hatten. Einige von ihnen waren Gitarristen und andere wie Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco und Joaquin Rodrigo waren Pianisten/Komponisten. Rodrigo und Castelnuovo Tedesco haben zwei der beliebtesten Konzerte für Gitarre und Orchester überhaupt geschrieben. Das Concierto de Aranjuez und das Konzert in D-Dur für Gitarre und Orchester.

Das Hören von Segovias Spiel gab mir die Motivation, das Studium der Gitarre ernst zu nehmen und über eine professionelle Karriere in der Musik nachzudenken. Es gab zu viele musikalische und technische Details, die ich nicht alleine herausfinden konnte. Der nächste logische Schritt war also, einen Lehrer mit Erfahrung in klassischer Gitarrentechnik zu suchen. Ich brauchte sofort einen Lehrer!!  Wenn ich mich nicht irre, brauchte ich noch am selben Tag jemanden. Ich ging nach unten und nahm mir die New York Times und The Village Voice, um nach einem Lehrer zu suchen. Ich fand einen Lehrer, der ein Studio im Gebäude der Carnegie Hall hatte. Exzellent!! Ein klassischer Gitarrist, der ein Studio im selben Gebäude hatte, in dem einige der größten Konzerte stattfinden!  Ich wurde verkauft! Ich habe gleich mit Privatunterricht bei Elena Valdi angefangen. Sie war eine wunderbare Gitarristin und Lehrerin. Ich ging gerne zu ihren Kursen. Ich erinnere mich, dass ich immer zwei Stufen auf einmal die Treppe des respektvollen Gebäudes hinaufging (in Eile, um nicht zu spät zum Unterricht zu kommen) und auf dem Weg nach oben oder unten eine Parade von Menschen traf, die Klarinetten, Geigen, Celli, Trompeten trugen , und viele andere Instrumente. In diesem Gebäude war eine künstlerische Energie zu spüren. Uns alle verband die Musik. Auf dem Weg zu Elenas Studio kam ich an vielen anderen Studios vorbei, in denen verschiedene Instrumente und Gesangsunterricht erteilt wurden. Der Klang, der aus diesen Räumen kam, war inspirierend. Der Central Park war nur ein paar Blocks entfernt und die Kurse am Sonntagmorgen während der Wintermonate in New York fügten dem Erlebnis eine magische Note hinzu. Das Joseph Patelson Music House lag auf der anderen Straßenseite. Es war ein obligatorischer Halt nach dem Unterricht, um in diesen Laden zu gehen und die Behälter mit den Notenblättern zu durchsuchen, um zu sehen, was es Neues gab.

press to zoom
press to zoom

Der Luthier Juan Orozco hatte auch sein Geschäft auf der anderen Straßenseite. Moondog stand seit Ende der 1940er Jahre in der 6th Avenue, nicht weit von der Carnegie Hall entfernt, und trug sein Wikinger-Outfit. Nur wenige wussten, dass er ein angesehener Komponist war. Letztlich,  Philip Glass lud ihn ein, seine Musik (Moondog's) mit dem Brooklyn Philarmonic Chamber Orchestra zu dirigieren. Alles fühlte sich an und war perfekt!  Damals kam ich nie auf die Idee, dass ich Jahre später mein Debütkonzert in der Carnegie Recital Hall in New York City geben werde und erhielt eine wunderbare Kritik von Peter G. Davies, Kritiker der New York Times . Nach meinem 2-jährigen Aufenthalt in New York und dem mehrmonatigen Unterricht bei Elena entschied ich mich für ein Musikstudium. 1971 hatte ich die Gelegenheit, nach Spanien zu gehen, um bei Demetrio Ballesteros am Königlichen Musikkonservatorium in Madrid, Spanien, zu studieren. Ich werde ein anderes Mal über meine spanischen Erfahrungen schreiben. Das war auch eine interessante Reise, aber New York City wird immer einen besonderen Platz in meinem Leben haben.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
bottom of page

A Short Story

I was 13 yrs of age growing up in Guayaquil, Ecuador when I started to play guitar. The nylon string guitar is a very popular instrument in Latin America, but for some reason, up to that moment in my life, the instrument had not caught so much of my attention. The defining moment came when the guitar and I crossed paths and an everlasting relationship started. It happened by chance. I came home from school one day and I saw my mother taking lessons from a lady she had contacted for the classes. I asked if I could sit in and listen to the class. I attentively and silently paid attention to the explanation the lady was giving to my mother on how to hold the guitar and how to place the left-hand fingers on the strings over the fretboard. She was explaining to her how to play something that was called a chord. The lady did not know how to read music nor had a good classical guitar technique, but whatever she was explaining to my mother along with her playing sounded intriguing to my ears. I asked my mother if I could also take lessons and she said yes. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the name of the lady, but I am grateful for the playing tips she taught me. I did admire my mother’s efforts at trying to learn to play guitar. I probably would not have learned it myself if it had not been for her initiative to take the lessons. Regretfully, a few months later after she stopped taking the lessons and stopped playing, she said she had forgotten everything she had learned.

It was somewhere around that time that The Beatles and The Rolling Stones were becoming a world wide phenomenon. Rock Bands started to pop up everywhere. Women also got the bug for rock music and became leading performers on their own bands. They say that Grace Slick from Jefferson Airplane and Janis Joplin laid out the path for Patty Smith, Bonnie Raitt, Joan Jett and all the female rockers that came after. In the early sixties thousands of boys and girls all over the world decided to learn guitar so they could play the songs of their favorite bands and singers. Of course everybody wanted to play electric guitar. The ultimate goal in the learning process was to put a rock band together. 

I was a member in several of them : Pajaros de Fuego (Firebirds) (Robbie Garcia/Lead singer, Alberto Vallarino (RIP)/Keyboards, Roberto Vallarino (RIP))/Bass, Fernando Rodriguez/Drums, Francisco Burgos/Guitar The Corvettes (same members), The Chevelles (Kiko Andrade/Lead singer, Glen Rumbea (RIP)/Bass, Ricardo Rivera/Drums, Francisco Burgos/Guitar. For some strange reason that I can not quite understand we always choose car model names!!! 

In the sixties Rock music was getting a new twist in the way it was written and performed. More chords and harmonies were incorporated into the songs along with unusual melodies and lyrics. The dress code and hair styles were also evolving along with many social changes. The Vietnam war was going on and the Civil Rights movement was gaining momemtum.

Although both, Beatles and Stones, played electric guitar, they also had many compositions where steel strings or nylon strings guitars were used. Songs such as “And I love her”, “’Till There Was You (Written by Meredith Willson)  “I’ve Just Seen a Face”, are just three of The Beatles earlier songs where nylon and acoustic steel string guitars were featured. We can not forget the contribution of Musician/Record producer George Martin to the Beatles success as a band with his involvement as a sound engineering on the recordings. A classically trained musician who contributed with his musical knowledge to shape the finished product of the recordings. 

The Rolling Stones were (and still are) a fascinating band that I enjoyed listening to. I still enjoy their earlier songs: “As Tears Go By”, “Sitting on a Fence” and “My Sweet Lady Jane”. These three songs also made use of the acoustic guitar. It was because of the Rolling Stones and the influence of Blues in their music that I also started listening to Blues guitarists such as B.B.King and Freddie King. Both Kings were my point of reference at that time when it came to that musical style.

Every other kid on the block who played guitar came to know the minor pentatonic scale. It is a scale that uses five notes 1, 3, 4, 5 and 7 of the natural minor scale. We used to play the pentatonic scale to death in our improvisations! Just like every teenage guitarist did at that time and probably still does today. I will add though, for the sake of the musical minded reader, that eventually we did learn other scales and committed ourselves to listening to blues guitarists a little more closely and learned the nuances of the style a little bit better.

Latin bands such as Los Iracundos (soft rock from Uruguay) were very popular among the teenagers at that time in Latin America. Two of their songs "Es la lluvia que cae" (It is the rain that falls)  and "Se que no volveras"  (Because I know you won’t comeback) became hits all across the Spanish speaking world in the Americas,  but Rock music in English was a strong force that could not be stopped. So we played and sang in English and Spanish. The music of Indian sitar player Ravi Shankar was also shaping the sounds of rock. The Beatles as well as the Stones experimented with that exotic and beautiful sounding instrument that became an important part of the “Summer of Love “ music era.

Folk rock and folk music were also another strong force in those days. When I heard Paul Simon’s finger picking style on the songs, written by him and sung together with Art Garfunkel (Simon and Garfunkel), I felt as if a gigantic magnet had pulled me over towards that style. Paul Simon’s guitar playing was a revelation. Some how a copy of the first album they made “Wednesday Morning, 3 am” landed on my record player while I was living in Ecuador. I have been listening to the songs that were in that LP ever since and I have never grown tired of them nor of any of the other recordings they made as a duo. I knew each song by memory. The first time I arrived in New York City in 1969, I headed straight to the East Village. I needed to go to Bleecker Street (“…Fog’s rollin’ in off the East River bank….like a shroud it covers Bleecker Street…”) I needed to take a walk towards the East river and breath the holy air that I thought only that street had. I wanted to feel the magic that Paul Simon described on that song of the same name as the street. Needless to say I was feeling groovy!

Among the many songs Paul Simon wrote during his early years “Kathy’s song” was one of my favorites. It was written while they were in London and it was dedicated to Kathy, his love at that time. I like this song a lot. The guitar playing is gentle, simple and beautiful. The lyrics are poetic and the melody helps to enhance the poetry of the lyrics or is it the other way around? I had to learn to play that song the moment I heard it. It has not lost a bit of its poetic power over the years.

I always had a personal attraction to the sweet tone the nylon string guitar and acoustic guitars produce. To be fair, I also like the electric guitar, but my interest with the acoustic and classical nylon string guitar has always been strong. While I was living in New York a new change in my musical taste took place or I should say I added a complex musical style/dish to the menu. I heard Andres Segovia’s playing. I remember buying one of his LP recordings. I vividly remember it was displayed in the window of a music store I walked by every day on the way to the subway station. I had heard he was one of the great classical guitarist (was there another one around as famous as him?) I was curious to listen to the recording and try to form a personal opinion myself. As soon as I had a few dollars in my pocket I bought the LP. That was a wise financial investment. The musical content in the LP blew me away.  I would spend hours with my ear close to the record player and my guitar in hand, trying to learn by ear some of the pieces he was playing in that LP. Soon I realized there was no way to learn these pieces by ear. Among the tracks in the LP there were Pavanas by Milan, Mallorca by Albeniz, Variations and Fugue on a theme of Handel by Harris and many other beautiful musical works by composers I had never heard of. The expressiveness of Segovia’s playing and his technical virtuosity brought to my ears a landscape of sounds that I could not believe were coming out of a nylon string guitar. The way he phrased the music opened a door that showed me there was a way to communicate musical ideas while playing this “simple” instrument that turned out to be capable of enormous musical complexity. I could not figure out how one person could make one guitar sound like an entire orchestra. I fell in love with the music of Bach, Ponce, Villalobos and many other composers who until then I did not know exist. Perhaps Bach was the only name I recognized. I found out that there were many composers who had written music for the guitar at Segovia’s request. Some of them were guitarists and others such as Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco and Joaquin Rodrigo were pianist/composers. Rodrigo and Castelnuovo Tedesco wrote two of the most popular Concertos for guitar and orchestra ever. The Concierto de Aranjuez and the Concerto in D Major for guitar and Orchestra.

Listening to Segovia’s playing gave me the motivation to take the study of the guitar seriously and start thinking of a professional career in music. There were too many musical and technical details that I could not figure out how to do on my own. So the next logical step was to look for a teacher with the experience in classical guitar technique. I needed a teacher right away!!  If I am not mistaken I needed some one that same day. I went downstairs and picked up copies of the New York Times and The Village Voice to look for a teacher. I found a teacher who had a studio in the Carnegie Hall building. Excellent!! A classical guitarist that had a studio in the same building where some of the greatest concerts take place!  I was sold! I started private lessons with Elena Valdi right away. She was a wonderful guitarist and teacher. I loved to go to her classes. I remember I used to walk up the stairs of the respectful building two steps at a time (in a rush not to be late to the class) and meet on the way up or down a parade of people carrying clarinets, violins, cellos, trumpets and many other instruments. There was an artistic energy you could feel inside that building. We were all bonded by music. On the way to Elena’s studio I would pass by many other studios where different instruments and voice lessons were being taught. The sound coming out of those rooms was inspirational. Central Park was just a few blocks away and the classes on Sunday morning during the winter months in New York added a magical touch to the experience. Joseph Patelson Music House was across the street. It was a mandatory stop after the class to go to that store and browse through the bins that contained music sheets to see what was new.

The Luthier Juan Orozco also had his shop across the street. Moondog had been standing on 6th avenue since the late 1940’s, not too far from Carnegie Hall wearing his Viking outfit. Very few people knew he was a respected composer. Eventually Philip Glass invited him to conduct his music (Moondog’s) with the Brooklyn Philarmonic Chamber Orchestra. Everything felt and was perfect!  It never occurred to me then that years later I will be giving my debut concert at the Carnegie Recital Hall in New York City and received a wonderful review by The New York Times critic Peter G. Davies. After my 2 years stay in New York and taking lessons for several months with Elena I decided to pursue a music degree. I had the opportunity to go to Spain in 1971 to study with Demetrio Ballesteros at The Royal Conservatory of Music in Madrid, Spain. I will write some other time about my Spanish experience. That was also an interesting journey but New York City will always have an special place in my life.